# A problem with Illustrator (need help!)

**URL:** <https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370>\
**Category:** design\
**Created:** [June 25, 2008, 2:51pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370 "2008-06-25T14:51:05Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 10\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Xtrykr](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/x/a8b319/32.png) [@Xtrykr](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/Xtrykr)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 2:51pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/1 "2008-06-25T14:51:05Z")

</div>

Hi all, I have been running into a problem in Illustrator. When I add any color vector object with or without any stroke on a blackbackground, there are white pixels showing up on the edges of the object! Its so annoying! How do I get rid of them? I’ve tried blurring and feathering, but regardless, it keeps adding the white stuff around the edges even when the object is not even white! Please help!

P.S. I don’t have this problem with objects on whitebackground. Thanks in advance!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Stratification](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/s/bc8723/32.png) [@Stratification](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/Stratification)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 3:57pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/2 "2008-06-25T15:57:03Z")

</div>

What version of Illustrator? And is the black background a vector shape, or did you change the artboard color? It sounds like there’s something funny going on with transparency. I’d go to the View menu and see if the pixel or overprint preview items are checked. Hopefully playing with those settings will sort it out.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Xtrykr](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/x/a8b319/32.png) [@Xtrykr](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/Xtrykr)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 5:00pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/3 "2008-06-25T17:00:08Z")

</div>

i am using cs3. and yes, the background black is a vector rectangle.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Stratification](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/s/bc8723/32.png) [@Stratification](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/Stratification)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 6:34pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/4 "2008-06-25T18:34:11Z")

</div>

Did you check the view settings I’d mentioned? I’ve not seen this problem personally. Do you have a screenshot I could see?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![w1sh](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/w/7feea3/32.png) [@w1sh](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/w1sh)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 7:24pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/5 "2008-06-25T19:24:58Z")

</div>

Sounds like he’s turned a matte on or is viewing some weird monitor settings.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Illustratr](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/i/b77776/32.png) [@Illustratr](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/Illustratr)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 8:10pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/6 "2008-06-25T20:10:55Z")

</div>

Also, _sometimes_ when not viewing things at 100%, you might get certain pixel phenomena that isn’t actually there (like if you printed you might not see it).

Another possibility, though perhaps you would have stated this as such, is that if you have applied Effects/Filters onto your object and don’t have high enough PPI (should be at least 300 or higher; found in Document Raster Effects Setting unter the Effect menu) you could be experiencing some rasterization and degradation of your vector.

As mentioned above…a screenshot would be best.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Xtrykr](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/x/a8b319/32.png) [@Xtrykr](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/Xtrykr)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 8:24pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/7 "2008-06-25T20:24:43Z")

</div>

![](https://support.teamsystems.ca/illus_bug.png) You see the white/gray crap along the edges of the word? I get that with any color on a black background. I have tried this with CYMK and RGB and I still get the same thing. It shows that with and without stroke! Helppp!!! xD[quote=Illustratr;2349109]Also, _sometimes_ when not viewing things at 100%, you might get certain pixel phenomena that isn’t actually there (like if you printed you might not see it).

Another possibility, though perhaps you would have stated this as such, is that if you have applied Effects/Filters onto your object and don’t have high enough PPI (should be at least 300 or higher; found in Document Raster Effects Setting unter the Effect menu) you could be experiencing some rasterization and degradation of your vector.

As mentioned above…a screenshot would be best.[/quote]

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![snickelfritz](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/s/7ea924/32.png) [@snickelfritz](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/snickelfritz)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2008, 9:47pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/8 "2008-06-25T21:47:42Z")

</div>

Toggle the menu item, View\>Pixel Preview, so that it is not selected.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Xtrykr](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/x/a8b319/32.png) [@Xtrykr](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/Xtrykr)\
**Post date:** [June 26, 2008, 3:04pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/9 "2008-06-26T15:04:37Z")

</div>

it is checked off but it still gives that.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![emanorez](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/e/b2d939/32.png) [@emanorez](https://forum.kirupa.com/u/emanorez)\
**Post date:** [June 26, 2008, 5:40pm UTC](https://forum.kirupa.com/t/a-problem-with-illustrator-need-help/264370/10 "2008-06-26T17:40:33Z")

</div>

It’s the Anti-aliased Artwork option in the General Preferences that’s causing this. However, if you turn it off your curved shapes will have a rougher edge. This only affects the screen preview in Illustrator and won’t appear on the final product if it’s used for printing.
