JavaScript Program [was: Java Program]

The Absolute Beginner’s Guide does not follow what I was able to get working.

<h1>, <p>, etc. don’t appear in the book.

alert does, but does not work.

What I am doing wrong?

Thanks

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html> 
<body>

<h1> Hello, World! </h1>
	<p> class = "subtitle" This is an example of a web page. </p>
	<p> The text between "body" and "/body" appears to be part a "body" function.
	</p>
	<p> This is an example of a web page. class =  "subtitle" is not needed.  
	</p>
	<p> "h1" denotes a title. "p" denotes text.  </p>
<script>
	function showDistance(speed, time) {
		alert(speed * time);
	}
	var speed = 10;
	<p> showDistance(10,5)</p>
	alert("Help");
</script>
	<p> showDistance(10,5) </p>
	showDistance(10,5);  
</body>

</html>
1 Like

Hi PJO,

The code in the book is meant to stay within the <script></script> tags. Much of the book focuses on just the JavaScript, though there is some more talk about the integration with HTML later on.

JavaScript, unlike something like the server-side langauge PHP, is executed on the client, usually interacting with an already complete DOM (HTML elements) structure. While PHP can run code in the middle of HTML tags producing content within them as the page is being built, JS tends to take the route of waiting for the page to already exist and be loaded before doing anything with it. It also doesn’t integrate itself directly into HTML or vise versa so much (with some exceptions), so mostly you have JS just in script tags, and other HTML everywhere else (generally not also in the script tags). So instead of something like:

<p>showDistance(10,5)</p>

You would simply call showDistance within the script tag itself without any other HTML that might get in the way or cause script parsing errors (JS doesn’t like trying to read HTML tags mixed in with the code):

<script>
	alert(speed * time);
}
showDistance(10,5);
</script>