Airport Designator

I am looking to make a web app to find city’s name when I enter the airport code.
I am new to javascript programming and looking for help.
Here is the link to my code on

Search for city codes here.

SEARCH

The approach you want to follow is this:

1. When the Search button is clicked, read the value from your input field.
  2. Match the value from your input field with some sort of an object. An array is an OK one to get started with, but a HashTable would be easier. You would have a mapping between an airport code to city.
  3. After getting the city name, all you have to do is display it. Will you display it directly on the page? Will you display the result in a dialog?

What you are trying to do requires some level of understanding how JavaScript works with the HTML on your page (aka the DOM), so let us know which step you are having difficulty with. There are some resources we can throw at you that will help you learn the basic concept behind each step.

Cheers,
Kirupa :slight_smile:

Dear Kirupa, I thank you for your reply.
All I need to do is when I enter a city’s airport code, I need to get that city’s name.
for example:

var YVR = “vancouver”;
var LAS = “Las Vegas”;
var LAX = “Los Angeles”;
etc…

I only can learn it when I see an example of one or two of them.
could you please send an example of one or two of these codes.

Thanks again.

I would like to display the city’s name onthe same page as an paragraph below the input field.

Here is a simple console output for displaying the city when an airport code is provided:

var airportCodes = new Object();
airportCodes["YVR"] = "Vancouver";
airportCodes["LAS"] = "Las Vegas";
airportCodes["LAX"] = "Los Angeles";

console.log(airportCodes["LAX"]);

You need a data structure that allows you to map between an airport code and the city. A Hashtable (basically just an Object in the JS world) is my preferred data structure for this: https://www.kirupa.com/html5/hashtables_vs_arrays.htm