Beginners Actionscript book (for an artist)....suggestions?

I just got Flash MX 2004 and I would like to get a good book for a beginner on Actionscripting. I’m not really a programmer, I’m an artist (check my sig to see some of my artwork). I catch on to programs quickly, but I’m looking for a book that might be good for a designer/artist to learn actionscripting, not a programmer. I’m in the process of designing my new site and have some cool ideas, but they all need actionscripting to pull off. Any advice on a book is much appreciated.

Shaun

I think I’m going to give that Definitive Guide a go and see how I like it. Its $50, but will be worth it in the end of it helps me achieve the website I am going for. I know for some of the things Actionscript is going to be the only way to achieve it, or it will at least make it smaller in file size instead of a lot of tweening and animation.

Thanks for the advice both of you.

I am a designer/illustrator and always tend to steer towards books that have real hands-on visual experiences. Add that with the step-by-step tutorials here at kirupa.com and all the wealth of knowledge by all those that frequent the forums here and you will learn AS. I suggest getting a foothold on the basics first however.

I like the book “Flash MX 2004|Hands-On Training” by Rosanna Yeung and Lynda Weinman. And I know you are going to cringe but it doesn’t hurt to look in the manual either. There is also a ton of information at your fingertips via Google.

My view is that you assign yourself a task in Flash, scour your books and the web, experiment and if all else fails ask intelligent and courteous questions here at Kirupa. Remember, if you use the forums try to pass on the favor by helping someone else or if you make a discovery share it with us.

Cheers,
Gazzer

I prefer the “Flash MX ActionScript Bible”, there is probably a newer version out now for MX 2004.

Thanks for the suggestions everyone.