Beyond small animations

I have no background in computer science, I picked up JavaScript from an online tutorial and later from JavaScript: The Good Parts. I have an adequate understanding of the various parts of the language and syntax. I can string them together to make useful code but as soon as I begin a project, I get this vague feeling that I’m about to hit a wall and start over. It’s as if I have no idea how to make the jump from small code to medium-big.

My main interest is animations, therefore it’s a mix of JavaScript and its weird animation cycle. Should I write the mechanics first and worry about rendering later? What design considerations or patterns do I need to be aware of in order to write modular code?

I guess my question is, what are the steps to writing an actual application? How did you do it?

Regards,
/Bogdan

It depends entirely on what animations you are trying to create. For some of the animations I work on, I just create them in a semi-sloppy way to figure out how to get the desired output. For animations I intend to share more broadly, I try to ensure I’m following decent coding practices.

If you are looking for something very prescriptive, I always start with the requestAnimationFrame callback and start slowly building from there :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

I think animations in particular are a little tricky because you can do a lot with CSS. Sometimes its hard to know when you need JS at all. Sometimes you can have animations without JS entirely. Others a thin layer of JS is used just to trigger ot turn them off etc. But once you get into the more complicated things (maybe from medium up to large?) you might need to do a lot more with JS.