Button / actionscript help

Is there a way to take a button, tell it to goto a specific scene, play the frames in that scene, then goto another specific scene… not in linear order… this way i can use the same transition scene for multiple buttons and still go to the scene i want the button to goto in the end ???

some thing like

if “button a” is pressed it goes to the “transition scene” then to “scene a”

if “button b” is pressed it goes to the “transition scene” then to “scene b”

so on and so forth…

I’m a reletive newbie at this … and i’m having trouble thinking up a solution based on my knowledge.

thanks

Lutha:skull: :skull: :skull:

I think it would be better to use a “transition movieclip” instead of a scene.

Run a search in this section for “transitions”

I don’t know if this is the best way to do it, but I just used something of that nature and it worked for me. In your actions, define a variable. At the end of your ‘transition scene’, put if statements on your timeline to tell it where to go:
on your first button:
[AS]
on(press){
var loc=1;
gotoAndPlay(“transition scene”);
}
[/AS]
then on your timeline at the end of the transition scene:
[AS]
if(loc==1){
gotoAndPlay(“scene a”);
}
if(loc==2){
gotoAndPlay(“scene b”);
}
[/AS]

If that’s wrong, I hope someone chimes in so I can fix mine (teehee). I’m sure you could also do it with an array somehow.
Hope that helps!
(-:

i ddint find anything that looked like it would help me … nothing about transition movie clips …

so the variablie would be the name of the button instance ?