Code design: anchoring sidebar components

I am working on building a site for a “virtual comic book” in react. For context, I’m very new to web dev (I just finished working through Kirupa’s react book), so the entire website is just various instances of the div component stacked inside one another. Lucky for me, I think that gets me most of the way there!

The layout is simple. There is a column of dialogue where the main action happens story-wise. Then, there might be some interesting tangents that we want to include that don’t quite fit in the main storyline. So we want to include them as “extras” in the sidebar. We want them to line up with the line of dialogue that they correspond to. See the picture below to see what I mean.

One design constraint is that I don’t want to hardcode chapters and chapters of this. So right now, we have static JSON files that specify dialogue text, the associated images, and the “extras” that go with each line. Then we render the JSON into a page at runtime. This is probably not the most efficient way to deal with this problem, but as I said, I’m new to this.

Here’s a picture of the layout I want and the problems I’m running into.

As you can see, originally I had a lengthwise div component for each dialogue line, and it’s “extra” if it has one. That worked, but if the extra was very long, it would cause huge gaps in the dialogue. This completely defeats the purpose: the extra was supposed to be unobtrusive and optional to read.

I would like to have a design like the second one in the picture, but this is where React’s top to bottom design is killing me. I can figure out how to anchor an extra at a predetermined y-value. However, the y-value that each extra should be anchored at depends on the y-value that it’s dialogue line renders at.