Critique My Code

Hey all,

I’ve come up with some code(with help from forums) that allows me control elements in an external.swf through buttons in my main.swf and vice versa.

Of course, different external.swfs are going to have differing movie clips.

Currently, I’m controlling the elements of multiple external.swfs using only two functions(one for opening and another for closing an external.swf) This is possible by using “if statements” to see if the elements of a given swf have been loaded.

I guess what I’m asking: Is there a better way to write this code? I’m sure there is (I’m not a programmer)

Here is my code for loading external swfs:

var _swfContainer:Loader = new Loader()

var _url1:URLRequest = new URLRequest("loadBio.swf")
var _url2:URLRequest = new URLRequest("loadMedia.swf")
var _url3:URLRequest = new URLRequest("loadBlogs.swf")

var _externalMovie:MovieClip;

//Start loading and add the loader to the stage

stage.addChild(_swfContainer);
_swfContainer.contentLoaderInfo.addEventListener(flash.events.Event.COMPLETE, finishedLoading);

// This is done after the swf is loaded
function finishedLoading (e:Event)
{

_externalMovie = MovieClip(_swfContainer.content);

}

Here is the function I use to control the elements of all the external.swfs (animations to open and close the .swfs")

function activateSelectedExternalSWFelements(e:MouseEvent):void{

///////// ACCESSING AN EXTERNAL SWF'S MOVIE CLIP///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
	_swfContainer.contentLoaderInfo.addEventListener(flash.events.Event.COMPLETE, finishedLoading);//necessary to see if 
	//ext swf has loaded before accessing movie clip in ext swf

function finishedLoading (e:Event){
		//now that the external SWF has finished loading, we can manipulate it's elements
		//The following items are present on each external SWF/////
		_externalMovie.pageTitle.alpha=0;
		_externalMovie.btnBack.alpha=0;
		_externalMovie.pageFlipOut.visible=false;