How to use the typewriter effect with an external text file?

I would like to use the typewriter effect (Daniel Skovli, Tutorial 36) using an external text file…is that possible? and can I set the typewriter to run as soon as it’s loaded without having to use a button? I’m an AS code novice so please assume I know nothing! well maybe a bit :slight_smile:

Where’s the code for the effect you’re using?

Hi there…I’ve copied the text from the first frame of the script…I’ve also attached the .fla …thank you :slight_smile:

// set our counting-variable to starting point
q = 1;
// declare the text that we are going to use.
text = “This is an example of the actionscript typewriter. It takes less space (kb)
than a masked animation, and if you like - you can load text from
txtfiles and have them typed out here. The speed depends on your
movies framerate. Just remember that there is a limit for how much text
a single variable can hold. Enjoy :o)”;
//loadVariablesNum(“jobs.txt”, 0);
// stop the movie. wait for other commands
stop();

I couldnt open your fla.

…I’ve zipped it this time, hope that works…

…just in case that doesn’t work I’ve attched some screen grabs …

Here it is.

love it !!

One question is there a way to make it to read “åäö”.? i´m from sweden :} . The only way i´w manage to reade åäö is to set the publishing to flash player 5 tut then the text inporting script dos not work??

/M

Open your file in notepad or any other ascii editor, and save it as unicode.

Thanke you sooooo much.I´w been trying to figur that ut for a long time.Love you ! by the way have you any idea how to make a scroll like they have on this site http://www.ozarkhenry.com/ If yo lock at ther news or calender .It´s so nice.

Thanke!

/m

one more thing do you know how to get external text in to this!

Thanks!

/M

welcome
And for that effect, you have to know how to have one movieclip affecting the _y position of all the others.