I'd like to incorporate my current code into a new interface

Hi I’m very brand new to JS, and I would love some help with this! Found you very helpful on Youtube, but still need lots of guidance.

Basically, I build this page that loads different images/videos by NASA depending on the date selected (https://thredd-astronomy.netlify.app)

I don’t like my interface and would like to use this template instead. I would like for the image or video to load as the background image with slight movement.
(https://html5up.net/eventually)

Can you help me with this?

Thank you so much!!!

Hi bpitt - welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

What you are trying to create in many ways resembles the Ken Burns Effect: The Ken Burns Effect Using CSS Animations | kirupa.com You can apply this animation to your loaded image from the NASA API, and this will result in your image panning around slowly.

My initial reaction is that modifying existing templates is often a fair bit of work. Understanding how someone else structure the HTML and CSS may take as much time as creating something on your own. What are your thoughts on trying to extend your existing example to look more like the template?

Cheers,
Kirupa

Without the ken burns effect, would it be easier?

I’ve been trying to do this for almost one week now and I just keep breaking my code. I’m trying to learn JS as much as possible, but this has me stumped.

If I can just get the image/video to display as the background, that would be HUGE!

Thank you.

How can I implement the JS to display the images as bg using my existing code? My JS is fairly short. Thank you

You can set the backgroundImage property using JavaScript and set it to the URL of the image. Here is an example of how you can do this: Setting CSS Styles using JavaScript | KIRUPA