Improve the structure of my codebase (JS)

I’m currently building a game (an RPG) in javascript, and the codebase has grown rather big and currently feels like a bit of a spider’s nest. I’ve never built anything of this size before so I’ve never had to deal with this type of problem, and I have a constant feeling that I should do some re-arranging but I feel that my knowledge around OOP is lacking and I need help figuring out if there’s a better way to do things. I’m not even sure I can call it OOP, but it sure isn’t purely functional either.

The codebase is currently based around a single object, with lots of child objects as properties. I keep passing the parent down the chain because I need to call methods from it. A lot of child objects need to be able to access methods and values from siblings as well.

Here’s a mock example of what the structure looks like. I’ve simplified it a lot for the example’s sake:

class Game {
  constructor (content) {
    this.content = content
    this.movement = new Movement(this)
    this.character = new Character(this)
  }

//... + A lot of helper methods on the game object
}

class Movement {
  constructor (game) {
    this._game = game
  }

openChest = (chest) => {
    chest.content.forEach(itemId => this._game.character.pickupItem(itemId))
  }

// ... + Bunch of methods and values here, a lot of them use this._game to call methods
}

class Character {
  constructor (game) {
    this._game = game
    this.inventory = []
  }

pickupItem = (id) => {
    const props = _game.getEntity('items', id)
    this.inventory.push(new Item(props))
  }

// ... + Bunch of methods and values here, a lot of them use this._game to call methods
}

class Item {
  constructor (props) {
    Object.assign(this, props)

this.equipped = false
  }

// ... + Bunch of methods and values here
}