Is there an event handler for a symbol's alpha value?

Hi - I’m new to AS3, but I’ve been searching for a solution with little to show; I hope I can get some help for this, in return you’ll get loads of appreciation & good karma :beam: (btw, using Flash CS4)

Summary:
I’m making a flash banner, the intent is to display 3 text messages & images to the end user. The banner has a big white section in the middle for the text & image, with an image border. The border will fade between red to white to blue, and with each “fade” the message and center image will change.

I need help flagging the moment when the text & image should update.

How it works:
As a newbie I took a very straightforward approach. Each border instance (red, white, & blue) are simple images (turned to symbols). Each on their own layer which will alpha “out” of view or “in” view according to the timeline (in other words the red border image sits on top of the white, which sits on top of the blue. The red will fade away, showing white. Then white will fade away, showing the blue. Then blue will fade away and then the timeline will complete & loop back to display the red border).

For the text, it is dynamic & read from a txt file (file is named messages.txt). This is loaded into the message_text dynamic text object; the AS3 code is:

[COLOR=Blue]var [/COLOR]loader:[COLOR=Blue]URLLoader [/COLOR]= [COLOR=Blue]new URLLoader[/COLOR]()

//tell the loader that we are dealing with variables for the profile text.  
loader.[COLOR=Blue]dataFormat [/COLOR]= [COLOR=Blue]URLLoaderDataFormat.VARIABLES[/COLOR];

//after it is loaded completely, call the "loadText" function  
loader.[COLOR=Blue]addEventListener[/COLOR]([COLOR=Blue]Event.COMPLETE[/COLOR], loadText);  

//the file to extract from
loader.[COLOR=Blue]load[/COLOR]([COLOR=Blue]new URLRequest[/COLOR]([COLOR=Green]"messages.txt"[/COLOR]));

//loading fucntion that imports the text