Let's give it a shot!

Hi there,

I would like to present you my little project I have been working on for the last 2 years (well, not full-time, just when I had some time left on my hands, you get the point):

http://www.vault52.net (click on the link to enter the vault at the main page)

It’s not one of those fancy ‘hyper kinetic’ flash design sites, but rather a sort of game engine (like Myst), that uses flash for graphical presentation. It’s not finished yet, not at all, but I think it gives a pretty good idea of what it could become one day.

One word of advice: you need broadband (2x 700 kb download), a big monitor and a love for the post apocalyps :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Phil

It looks nice, but I don’t see any flash? SOTW sites need to be mostly flash.

Well, the complete site is in flash, but you have to click on the ‘>> Welcome to the real future’ - button at the main page, or the ‘enter the vault’ at the Vault52 section …

The html part was requested by the fallout community to host the forum etc …

Cheers,

Phil

I liked it, but there are some cursor problem when change them fast. I specially don´t like the customized cursor because they run slowly. It´s better putting a hided movieclip that show when a rollover occur.

Also, having the flash movie stretch to the window size causes lagging and distortion. On my 800x600 I could not read any of the text. I had to hit F11 to full maximize IE. Not everyone knows about the F11 trick and some others may use Netscape or be on a Mac, which doesn’t support full maximizing like IE does.

Well, first of all, the cursor is hidden, you can only enable it through the menu, so if it causes lagging or problems, just don’t enable it.

I know the website gives problems at small screens, that’s why I state everywhere you need a big monitor (at least 17" at 1027768). Once again, this website is made for a select group of people, I rather give them the full advantage of having a big monitor, then working on 800600.

Cheers,