Line break and firstChild

Hello:
I am still a beginner learning JavaScript and find a few problems trying some code:
First the use of “\n” which I expect to cause a line break. Example:

var name = "Peter";
    var nextName = "John";

document.writeln("Hello, " + name + "\n");
    document.writeln("Hello again, " + nextName + "!");  

gives:
Hello, Peter Hello again, John!
and not the line break I anticipated.

Second: Use of firstChild:
Note: I entered a HTML description showing a body tag, with an h1 tag and element below at first.
(Unfortunately “What’s happening?” showed up when I entered the actual HTML, and replaced it, so I am now editing my message and removed the actual HTML code. I presume this HTML code triggered the “What’s happening?”)
Anyway, here is the JavaScript:

var bodyElement = document.body;

var childElement = bodyElement.children[0];
        alert(childElement.tagName);   

The result shows as ‘H1’ as expected.
If I replace the .children[0] by .firstChild:
var childElement = bodyElement.firstChild;
The result shows as ‘undefined’

Where did I go wrong?
I have Windows 8.1 and tested it on Chrome and Explorer.
Thanks so much!
Johan

Hey Johan,

For #1, the script is working as expected and a new line is being added. The only problem is that HTML doesn’t render new line characters in the source code (which is what document.writeln is writing) on the screen. If you want to see a new line, you want to use a <br> tag or wrap text in a block element like <p> which spaces out text blocks. If you look at the generated code in that sample (most browsers should let you do this using right-click > inspect) you should be able to see your \n there.

<body>
Hello, Peter

Hello again, John!
</body>