multiple cameras being displayed on a single browser window with the help of html

hi. i’m an engineering student and currently doing my final year project. my project is the development of vehicle simulator for the training of drivers. among one of the element of my project is to display 3 camera’s output onto a single web browser (basically the concept of 1 front view and 2 rear view of a vehicle). since i’m an engineer student, i’m not that familiar with these html stuff. so could anyone help me with this? i came across kirupa’s “Accessing Your Webcam in HTML” video so i was wondering if it’s possible to do it with 3 webcam cameras

Hi @HARITH_FIRDAUS - I was thinking more about this since you posted on YouTube.

One approach that will work is for you to create a separate video element for each camera you would like to display the video from. In the code for targeting each video element, you can specify which camera’s source you would use. This is the API that can help you with this:

The code snippet from there may be perfect for what you are trying to do:

if (!navigator.mediaDevices?.enumerateDevices) {
  console.log("enumerateDevices() not supported.");
} else {
  // List cameras and microphones.
  navigator.mediaDevices.enumerateDevices()
    .then((devices) => {
      devices.forEach((device) => {
        console.log(`${device.kind}: ${device.label} id = ${device.deviceId}`);
      });
    })
    .catch((err) => {
      console.error(`${err.name}: ${err.message}`);
    });
}

When you have the deviceId for the camera in question, you can specify that in your code:

navigator.mediaDevices.getUserMedia({
  video: {
    deviceId: { exact: camera1Id }
  }
});

Does this help point you in the right direction?

Cheers,
Kirupa

thank you for the instant reply! appreciate it. i’ll try to work on it

2 Likes