Need help adding captions to XMLSlideshowPRO [www.simplistika.com]

Hi all,

I purchased the Pro version of XMLSlideshow from www.simplistika.com yesterday; since then I have been trying to get support from the admin there with regard to adding further animated captions to the movie, but apparently what I am asking is outside the scope of the support provided, even if you purchase thier product.

And so I am forced to try and seek help elsewhere; I am a very experienced programmer, but I am new to Flash and Actionscript, so I am having trouble finding the cause of the problem I am currently having. Ok, here goes:

I tried to attached a zip containing all the files that I am working with, but it was over the forum size limit, so I have uploaded it here; the component which I am having problems with (the component I have added) is the “mcPrice” symbol; it is my intention that this symbol should be controlled in exactly the same way as the “mcCaption” symbol.

I am sure that I have added the new component to the .FLA in the same manner as the original component has been added; furthermore, I have duplicated the lines of code in the file at “XMLSlideshow\com\simplistika\XMLSlideshowPRO.as” which control the original symbol, and I have altered them so that they reference my new symbol (all of my new lines of code are surrounded by comments in this format: // DEBUG!!!).

The problem is, when the actionscript hits the first reference to my new symbol (on line 72), a #1010 error is thrown. Now, I understand that this error indicates that the object I am trying to access is not instantiated, but I have checked and double checked the .FLA and I cannot understand why the object is not accessible; the symbol is definitely present on the stage, because if you comment out my addtional lines of code, so that the movie will run, the symbol appears centre stage.