OOP helping hand?

Hello,

My background is more art/design/photography etc than programming.

I learned programming in Flash MX, and recently got back into flash with Flash 8.

So basically, whereas OOP might be second nature to many of you, it really means nothing to me :smiley:

I have tried and failed to convert some of my code into AS2 classes.

So I would really appreciate it if one of ye OOP faithfuls here at kirupa could do exactly that?

This is a somewhat simple function comprising of 2 elements, a flower whip that gets sort of sucked towards a large vortex flower. Itā€™s not basic, but itā€™s not mega complex either.

If I post the FLA, would you be able to turn it into AS2 classes and post it back?

If I could see how the code would be turned into classes, it would help me a lot, Iā€™d be able to learn how itā€™s done.
[URL=ā€œhttp://rumblesushi.com/kiru/flowerpower.htmlā€]
Cheers.

peeking at your file nowā€¦ man, when and how did I learn class/oop - Iā€™ve been working on flash day-in day-out for about 8+ years, and I started learning oop in as1 probably 6 years ago - there were hacky ways to actually create class files in as1 - learned from co-workers. Then tons and tons of downloading examples and reading books. Iā€™m a bit miffed that I never took an actionscript class and struggled a lot to learn, but I also know of people that have taken several classes and they didnā€™t learn that much. But with that all said - I just worked on a project for an agency where I felt like I knew nothing at all about OOP and design patterns - it really threw me off working with developers of that scale. Iā€™m from a creative background as well - so, I think its inevitable that my mind wonā€™t ever work like a software engineers :wink:

you code appears really organized and all very solid - it runs great. Its just in 3 places correct? on _root then within the flower and within the small flower correct? Iā€™ve gotta take off, but think I can convert later today.