Passing variables from PhP to Actionscript

I have a PhP script that passes several variables to flash. I am fairly new to AS and know nothing of PhP. The PhP script was originally written for an AS2 file and required no AS code to import the variables. The way i am doing it in AS3 it seems to be loading the variables but instead of condition=1 it loads condition=1,1

here is the php (the comments were written by a collaborator who sent me the file, he only know AS2 and could not help me)

<?php 
$experimentname = "risk";   
$numofconditions = 6;
$conditionfilename = "$experimentname.txt"; 

//here is where we assign condition:

//read file
$condition_fh = file($conditionfilename); //this opens the condition file to figure out what the last conditon run was
$count = count($condition_fh)-1; //this counts the number of rows in the condition file
$lastcondition = $condition_fh[$count]; //this sets $lastcondition to the last number in the file...the last condition that was run
//print "$conditionfilename - $count - $lastcondition<br>";    

if($lastcondition ==$numofconditions){$newcondition = 1;} else {$newcondition = $lastcondition +1;} //this tells the program to go to the next condition. Also it sets it back to condition 1 if the last condition was equal to $numofconditions

$fh = fopen($conditionfilename, 'a'); //this opens the condition file to write the new conditon in

fwrite($fh,"$newcondition
"); //this writes the new condition to the file

fclose($fh); //closes the file

//Often times you want to know if someone started your experiment and then quit before submitting the data. 
//The next bit of code creates another file for you which simply keeps a log of IP address of anyone who started the program and when they did so
$date_start = date("Y-m-d"); //gets the current date
$time_start = date("H:i:s"); //gets the current time
$fh =fopen("startlog.csv", 'a'); //opens or creates a file called "startlog.csv"