Resizing Flash HTML5 Canvas files for Retina Displays?

Hi, I recently started playing with HTML5 Canvas in Flash CC; it’s kind of nice to still use the Flash IDE which I worked with for many years, but I’m having a few issues that I can’t seem to resolve… I’m hoping someone here might be able to help.

I want to build a banner at double size, and then scale it down so that images are crisp on Retina displays.

<body onload="init();" style="background-color:#D4D4D4"> <canvas id="canvas" width="600" height="500" style="background-color:#000; width: 300px; height: 250px;"></canvas> </body>

should work; I’ve seen a working example of it here: http://filez.byhook.com/html5_examples/150k_CreateJS/ and it’s also described the same way here: http://www.iab.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/Now-I-Know-My-HTML5_EventPresentation.pdf

But when I create a simple file at 600x500 px in Flash, publish it, and add the 300x250 width and height to the HTML file, it doesn’t resize. Example file attached.resizeRetina.zip (258.8 KB)

The weird thing is, if I Inspect Element in Chrome or Firefox, it still shows the style with the old 600x500 width and height; I can edit it within “Inspect Element” and the resize does work, but I’m unclear how to make the change stick in the actual HTML file. Does anybody have any tips/tricks/ideas?

It seems like such a simple thing, but somehow I just can’t quite figure it out. Thanks so much for any suggestions!

Not sure if this is the problem you’re having, but once you make the changes to the HTML file and save it, you should also uncheck the “overwrite HTML file” option in the publish settings so every time you publish it doesn’t wipe out your HTML changes.