Select a random movieclip form an array of movieclips

Hi, iv been trying to find out how i can attach a random movieclip form an array of movieclips.

Iv got this so far, i have searched the forum etc for help and i am pretty stuck.

var logo_arr:Array = new Array("logo01", "logo02", "logo03", "logo04", "logo05", "logo06", "logo07", "logo08", "logo09", "logo010", "logo011");

var randomLogo:Number = logo_arr[Math.floor(Math.random()*11)];

var dynamiclogo_mc = this.attachMovie("randomLogo", "randomLogo", 3);

dynamiclogo_mc._x = Stage.width/2 - 180 ;
dynamiclogo_mc._y = Stage.height/2 - 420;

All my movieclips are in the library and have the linkage for actionscipt enabled.

I cant see what it is im missing?

Any help is much apreciated

Thanks, SamI:-)

erm because you are attaching the same MC?

attachMovie([“logo”+randomLogo],randomlogo,different depth )

sort of

Sorry, im a newb at this and do not understand your reply???

geez

I’ve improved the code a little, you need to give each MC a different name and a different depth

noob yourself :stuck_out_tongue:

var logo_arr:Array = new Array(“logo01”, “logo02”, “logo03”, “logo04”, “logo05”, “logo06”, “logo07”, “logo08”, “logo09”, “logo010”, “logo011”);

var randomLogo = logo_arr[Math.floor(Math.random()*11)];

var dynamiclogo_mc = this.attachMovie(randomLogo, randomLogo, 3*something);

dynamiclogo_mc._x = Stage.width/2 - 180 ;
dynamiclogo_mc._y = Stage.height/2 - 420;

Thanks verymuch,

iv been looking at it so long it just didnt notice the

:Number

DOH

NEVER datatype lol

well maybe once you’ve finished

yikes, that’s unfortunate. there’s nothing wrong with datatyping–as long as you pick the correct type (which would be movieclip, not number, in this case).

gotta go with adobe on this one: