Shooting in a game-megaman style

Ok I am creating a 2d game similar to the original mega mans and mario for nintendo. The character moves back and forth using the left and right arrow keys on the screen and has a walk animation and all. The next step is to get him to shoot his laser gun. I want this to be done using the space bar key. What I have right now is identical to Kirupa’s movement using X and Y values tutorial but it only moves one direction of course. How can I make it so that it will continue to move automatically after pressing space instead of having to hit the space bar each time I want it to move 10 units over etc.?\r\rThis is probably a simple question but I am new to flash. Most of my experience is in VB and C++ :slight_smile: