Switching animations at key press/Controlling Character

I’m pretty new to flash 5. My only accomplishment so far with it was to create a space shooter game which i modified slightly and animated it or at least the enemy spache ships and the players spaceship.\r\rHere is what I want to do, but cant seem to figure out\r\rI want to have a character on screen who is standing stationary normally, but still facing a direction.(left or right)\r\rNow I want to be able to switch to a walking animation towards the right when I press a key and a seperate animation for when he walks left also at the press of a key\rI want to do down and up to, but I should be able to figure those out once I learn left and right\r\rI also want it so when I lt go of the key they stop the walking animation and return to stationary, but stay facing whatever direction i pointed them

bump… interesting problem.\r\r_yscale=-100; will set an object to flip horizontaly… that’s going to be part of the answer.\r_y++; will move an object 1 pixel to the right, the opposite, _y–; will move an object 1 pixel to the left… this is another part of the answer.\r\rI’ll think about this… it might be a little complex, but if you’ve created a shooter then you’re well on your way. Give me a day or two.

Here is the script I’m using currently for the character \rI doesnt lock up when I run this, but it seems like the animation is locked on the first frame and not going to any of the frames I specify \r\r\r\r\ronClipEvent(load){ \r\rmoveSpeed=5; \r\r} \r\r\r\r\ronClipEvent (enterFrame) { \r\r\rif (Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)) { \rthis._x+=moveSpeed; \rgotoAndPlay( 3 ); \r} else if (Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)) { \rthis._x-=moveSpeed; \rgotoAndPlay( 13 ); \r} \rif (Key.isDown(Key.DOWN)) { \rthis._y+=moveSpeed; \rgotoAndPlay( 8 ); \r} else if (Key.isDown(Key.UP)) { \rthis._y-=moveSpeed; \rgotoAndPlay( 28 ); \r} \r\r} \r\r

Try and debug your movie :