"the Emotion Machine"

To Whom, it may concern,

My name is Cameron MacLeod and my collaborator in Yang Wenqing. I am currently studying in Konstfack University College of Art and Design in Sweden at the “Art in the Public Realm” MFA program. My background is in painting and electronic based art www.cameronmacleod.net. Yang is also studying for a short time at Konstfack and finishing his M.F.A. in “Experience Design”. His background is industrial design and he is the founder and Design Director of LOE Design Consulting Co. Ltd. (a major design company in china with over 70 employees) [URL=“http://www.loedesign.com/”]www.loedesign.com.

Konstfack University College of Art and Design along with the Arlanda Airport has formulated a class to develop new intiatives for the public space within the Airport. We have been taking this M.F.A. class for three months now and working on a singular project that will be proposed for permanent instillation in the Airport. 

Yang and I are proposing a project that will basically consist of a 40 x 40 pixel screen embedded in the floor that is 4 meters by 4 meters in length, each pixel can display a full color range and is touch sensitive. The system is connected to the internet and is controlled through flash files.

The project will allow for public participation from passers-by interacting with the work in the physical space (through the touch sensitive floor) as well as from digital artists contributing to the programming of the screen (through the peripheral computer connected to the internet.) Through this interactivity we will evaluate our installation, leading to a better use of public space.