"this" keyword

I’m trying to learn JS from scratch, and I using JavaScript Absolute Beginner’s Guide - 1st Ed (2016) as reference. That is how I came to know of Kirupa and this forum. So far I’ve reached the topic Extending Built-In Objects Is Controversial, Chapter 17 Page No.186. There’s an example where the behavior of slice() is changed,

Array.prototype.slice = function() {
  var input = this;
  input[0] = "This is an awesome example!";
  return input;
}
var tempArray = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10];
tempArray.slice();
alert(tempArray);

The use of “This” was explained prior to this topic and what I’ve understood is that “This” always points to an object and it’s used as a pronoun in place of the object in use.

How does it work here though?

var input = this;

What does that declaration imply? What does input hold here? What does “This” hold or point to?

In this case, this refers to the tempArray object you are calling slice via. @senocular posted a great answer a while ago about what the this keyword points to in various situations, but I can’t seem to find it right now!

Oi, yeah I wonder which one you’re thinking of. I’ve written so many :slight_smile:

To add on to what @kirupa has said, this represents some value that the current function or scope is considering its context. Its just another variable (of sorts), like a function argument, that gets set to some value based on a certain set of rules. For functions, you can very much think of it a lot like another argument, one hidden from you in the parameter list but exists all the same and always has the name “this”

There are a lot of rules about what this is given certain circumstances, but the main rule is this: when a function is called from an object, the context - that is the value of this when that function gets executed - gets set to the object from which the function is called. So given:

tempArray.slice();