Two Bugs in LinkedList data structure in Absolute Beginner's Guide to Algorithms

I found two bugs in the LinkedList data structure in Absolute Beginner’s Guide to Algorithms. Both involve not updating the tail pointer.

Fixed Code:

removeData(data) {
	if (this.size === 0) {
		throw new Error("List is empty");	
	}

if (this.head.data === data) {
		this.head = this.head.next;
		this.size--;
		return;	
	}
	let current = this.head;

while (current.next) {
		if (current.next.data === data) {
			if(current.next === this.tail) {
				this.tail = current;
			}
			current.next = current.next.next;
			this.size--;
			return;	
		}

current = current.next;
	}

throw new Error(`Node with data '${data}' not found in list!`);
}

addAfter(afterData, data) {
	const newNode = new LinkedListNode(data);

if (this.size === 0) {
		this.head = newNode;
		this.size++;
		return;	
	}

let current = this.head;

while (current) {
		if (current.data === afterData) {
			newNode.next = current.next;
			if(current === this.tail) {
				this.tail = newNode;
			}
			current.next = newNode;
			this.size++;
			return;	
		}

current = current.next;
	}

throw new Error(`Node with data '${afterData}' not found in list!`);
}

@timfrobisher - thanks for pointing this out! You are totally right :facepalm:

I have posted the updated code here: kirupa/data_structures_algorithms/linkedlist.htm at master · kirupa/kirupa · GitHub

I will update the corresponding article and file the corrections tomorrow.

Hi,

I found another issue with the book but don’t feel like it warrants a separate post. The issue is with the Towers of Hanoi explanation. There is a rather confusing formatting problem. I am using the Kindle version on the PC Kindle reader. The issue may be specific to this version.

(Imagine that I inserted an image of the induction proof here. I did. But I had to delete it since new users can only insert one embedded media item per post)