Ultra basic XML help please

I’ve never used XML before, at all.

However I have an upcoming project that’s going to have a big image gallery, that is likely to change often, so I can see XML would be very useful for speed of editing/adding etc.

I’m a complete XML noob then, and I’m just doing a little test with some text, and I can’t seem to access the Array outside the xml.onLoad function.

Could you tell me what I am doing wrong?

Here is the xml…

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<writing>
<para>
OK this is paragraph 1
</para>
<para>
And this is paragraph 2
</para>
<para>
Bloody hell, XML seems like a bit of a nause
</para>
</writing>

And here is the AS…

stop();
var xml:XML = new XML();
xml.ignoreWhite = true;
var description:Array = new Array();
xml.load("writing.xml");
xml.onLoad = function(loaded) {
 if (loaded) {
  paragraphs = this.firstChild.childNodes;
  for (var i = 0; i<paragraphs.length; i++) {
   description.push(paragraphs*.firstChild);
  }
 }
[COLOR=black]** desc.text = description[2];**[/COLOR]
};

Now in the above code, my dynamic text field named “desc” correctly displays “bloody hell, XML is a nause”.

However, when the line in bold is placed outside the onLoad function, it returns undefined, and when traced, the description array returns nothing at all.

I need to access the array outside of this function.

What am I doing wrong?

Cheers,
Joe

Let me tell you why its undefined, the array is empty until the XML file has been loaded. And if you place the “desc.text = description[2];” outside of the function, it gets called before the file has been loaded :slight_smile:

To get around this, you can either call a function from within the xml.onLoad() or put the “desc.text = description[2];” on the next frame.

Is that it? :smiley: