unloadMovie help... please

Hi I have a question about the load/unloadMovie commands.

I have a movie, with a second movie loaded into a section of it. I was wondering if it is possible to have an action inside this loaded movie that tells the main movie to unload it and go to the next frame.

I tried doing it like this:

I put

loadMovieNum(“second.swf”, 5);
stop();

in the main timeline, with unloadMovieNum(5); on the next frame, then in the loaded movie I put:

tellTarget (“mainmovie.swf”) {
nextFrame();
}

on the last frame, which I thought would cause the main movie to unload the second movie and continue the animation.

Instead, I get this error when I publish:

Target not found: Target=“21.swf” Base="_level5"

and I am stumped.

Any help at all would be incredible appreciated. Also please bear in mind that I am pretty new to actionscript, so if you could spell it out for me that would be great.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out,

Matt Booth

unloading _level0 unloads everything above it i believe. for example to completely change your main movie, simply load another one into _level0 and all levels will be unloaded.

why don’t you just have a _level0 that does this:

loadMovieNum(“firstAnimation.swf”,2);

load your second movie onto _level5…
loadMovieNum(“secondAnimation.swf”,5);

then when the first animation is done just unloadMovieNum(2); this will get rid of the first scene. you can use a bunch of levels…

if you want to add advanced options to the movies you are loading such as being able to position them, rotate, scale, etc…
load the movie into a movie clip instead of a level. make an empty movie clip, instance name = “mc”. then when you are ready to load a movie into it, loadMovie(“myMovie.swf”,“mc”);
this will load the movie into the movie clip. you can easily position it scale, etc.

bottom line… use _level0 as a controller… load movies onto upper levels or into movie clips… either way you will be able to load and unload them easily