Urgent question - actionscript

i’ll start off by saying… i’m pretty new to using actionscript.

i work at a shelving company and i’m making a small program for the secretary there to make calculations and paperwork easier.

the basic idea of what i want the program to do is to…

<li>have the user input a number (the length of a shelf)
<li>select from a list of radio buttons what type of shelf is wanted
<li>select from a checkbox if the shelf is going to be billed to a builder or a customer, with the default being a builder, and checkbox indicating that it will be billed to a customer.
<li>click an “add” button that will add the shelf information to a list - a list made up of many other added shelves.
<li>finally, when finished inputing all the shelves for one job, click a “done” button, which will display the list of shelves that was created, and total price of the job. from there, the user will also be printing that final scene out.

so what i’m thinking is that i need to use some sort of big multi-lined variable that can contain variables in each line…

<li>a var. for the length
<li>a var. for the choosen type
<li>a var. to show whether or not the checkbox is checked
<li>and the big multi-lined variable to that can add each of those variables all on one line

i’m not sure that anything like this even exists.

the only other thing that i thought might work in this situation is a shared object. but i don’t think that a shared object could have more than more than one “line,” if you know what i mean.

any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

matt

all right i’ve done some searching, and i think what i need is an array.

first of all, am i right?

and if i am right, could someone kindly explain how arrays work? i don’t have that much of a grasp on it.

once again, any help would be appreciated. thanks, matt.

i think you’re on the right track with an array. how about an array of objects? that way you can label (rather than number) your elements.