Use Javascript to randomly select an image from a folder at the start of a css animation loop?

Please can someone help me? I’m new to coding at the tender age of 64 (trying to reinvent myself). I’m trying to create multi - animations of images “flying” around my webpage infinitely. Here is one of the loops. Every time the loop starts I would like the image to change randomly from an image folder. How do I code this in javascript triggered from this CSS with animationiteration?

#pic1{
    width: 320px;
    height: 577px;
    position: absolute;
    margin: 5px 15px 15px 15px;
    border-color: whitesmoke;
    border-style: groove;
    border-width: 3px;
    background-image: url(./images/myImage);

animation-name: go1;
    animation-duration: 15s;
    animation-iteration-count: infinite;
    animation-timing-function: linear;
}

@keyframes go1  {
    from{transform: scale(0) translate(-800px,2000px)}
    to{transform: scale(1) translate(1900px,-500px)}
}

Many thanks.

Sounds like you’re halfway there. To change the image for each loop, you would use animationiteration. That would be the event that you’d listen for on #pic1 since that is the element being animated. From there you just need to assign it a random image.

First thing is, javascript can’t look into folders and know what images you have there - at least not javascript running in the browser. So instead, what you’re likely going to need to do is to manually write out the images that you want it to choose from in a list. Then from that list you can pull out a url randomly and apply it to the style of the animated element to override the original image. That would look something like…

let urls = [
    'url(./images/myImage)',
    'url(./images/myImage2)',
    'url(./images/myImage3)'
];
let pic1 = document.getElementById('pic1');
pic1.addEventListener('animationiteration', event => {
    let randIndex = Math.floor(Math.random() * urls.length);
    let randUrl = urls[randIndex];