Using sounds in hitTest?

hey, im pretty new with flash, but i have this game prototyping class im in and our first assignment is to create a simple breakout game in flash.

so everything works, all i need to do is add sound.

I was wondering if its possible to add sounds in hitTest’s, so when my ball hits the brick it will make a certian sound.

In my case, my bricks are animated vials of liquid. when you hit the brick once, the vial cracks, and when you hit it again it breaks open.

I want to have a 2 different sounds when it gets hit the first time (when it cracks) and the second time (when it breaks)

here is an example of the first hitTest in my brick when it cracks:
[color=Gray]
[/color] [color=Gray][color=Blue] if(this.hitTest(_root.aBall) && this.brickHit==0)
{[/color]
[color=Blue] _global.v_yDelta = _global.v_yDelta * -1;[/color] //makes my ball bounce off the
brick
[color=Blue]gotoAndPlay(61);[/color]//tells it play the cracked vial animation (because now its cracked, you hit it once.)
[color=Blue] }[/color][/color]

if this isnt possible to do, or there is an easier way that would be helpfull. also, my code for my brick is a bit…sketchy if you will? Im pretty sure the way i coded it is one of the most messy ways possible and there is probably a more efficient way to do it. I’ll try to explain the best i can on how it works: (sorry for the long post)