Button gotoandplay HELP please!

I am new to CS4 and actionscript 3.0. I am developing a flash website for a friend of mine as a favor. Ive been stuck with a small problem for a day and a half already. I am used to the oldschool flash MX 5.0 and actionscript 1.0 where you could simply add an action to a button intself. For instance I used to be able to put this action directly on a button and it would work fine.

on(Release) {
gotoAndPlay(2)
}

I’ve been doing a little research and reading about how to do this in CS4 and its something like this.

button1.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, functionName)
button2.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, functionName)
button3.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, functionName)
button4.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, functionName)
button5.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, functionName)
button6.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, functionName)
button7.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, functionName)

var targetName:String;

function functionName(e:MouseEvent):void
{
targetFrame = e.currentTarget.name;
gotoAndStop(targetFrame);

I’ve tried this as well and it doesnt seem to work even after labeling frames and everything. It will work for 1 button and when i click the other buttons, they will all go to the same frame instead of going to the other labeled frames. On top of that its causing my button animations to loop instead of stopping after playing once.