CSS vs SVG vs CANVAS

What do you suggest for someone interested in making animations for mathematics? (vector fields, oscillating stuff, etc.)

I have tried so far SVG, to be precise d3.js. It’s quite easy to get animations up and running but d3.js took a weird direction (too tightly associated with Observable) lately and I’ve mostly given up on it.

I have little experience with Canvas but it’s quite liberal in what you can do, with very decent performance. However it’s a pain in the butt to work with as there is nothing ready for you. Input handling is a chore especially since after an object is drawn, access to it is lost unlike when you work with SVG and the DOM. I guess it’s just a bit more work.

I have no experience with CSS on the other hand but I’ve seen some nice animations. How far can you go with CSS and what does the future look like for CSS?

The most impressive web-based math animations I’ve seen came from MathBox2. I haven’t used the API myself, so I can’t comment on how easy it would be to get your own stuff up and running with it.

1 Like

For making animations for mathematics, it depends on what exactly you are trying to replicate. Do you have some examples of the types of animations you’d be creating?

My general answer is to find a good charting library like d3.js, which you’ve tried. It’s widely used and has a great ecosystem, so it may be worth giving it one more look. Another charting library that I’ve seen used frequently is Chart.js.

If you do go down the path of implementing your own solutions, I would rank SVG first, Canvas second, and CSS last.