Depth Rotation

I know this might sound completely retarded, but I can’t find out for the life of me, how to make an object rotate on a Z axis. I’ve seen it done a million times, so I know it’s not impossible, but no matter how much I rack my brain on this, I can’t figure it out.

Any suggestions?

Are you sure it’s using flash?

its more than likely a 3D program.

yea

the closest you can get is using swapDepths(x) and having x change… but obviously you will want it to scale so you would also want to play with the mcs ._xscale and ._yscale properties :wink:

Prophet.

Yes, i’m sure it’s using flash, Flash MX actually, which is probably the reason I posted in this forum. Wierd how that works.

I don’t think I was describing my problem properly, so I’ve added a guiding animation for you to watch. I know it’s possible, but whether it’s just a trick or something i’m missing is still beyond me.

[Yes, I realize my methods are newbish and archaic, but i’m still new at this.]

Come on… someone has to know what i’m talking about…

if you are correct in what you mean, and you are sure it is the z-axis, then you just adjust the _rotation property of a movieclip.

if it were the x or y axis, then we would be talking about a more 3d based application. there are programs such as Swift3D, which can be used to create 3D movies that are then importable into flash.

Another option available for use the the Macromedia Director MX approach. Director is the Application that is used to create 3D shockwave movies. i’ve been looking into this a bit myself recently. It users a language other than as, called ‘lingo’ (if i remember correctly) and the 3D stuff is done with this.

hope this helps you.

having now looked at the fla, i understand what you mean.
this is not rotation around the z-axis, but around the y-axis. The z-axis is towards, and away from the camera and therefore if we rotate around it, it spins as if altering the _rotation property.