Dynamically loading Images set as vars in a text file

Hi,

I am new to Flash and was hoping someone could help me.

I have numerous file names stored as vars in a text file e.g.

f1p0=1_short_blue_left.swf&f2p0=0_medium_blue_left.swf&f3p0=3_medium_yellow_left…

So in the main timeline I will have an action that loads the vars from the textfile.

I have to load these movie files(that will contain only a graphic) into specific postions in a movie. I was hoping to mark the positions with var names i.e. I will have a path p0 and the first image will be placed at f1p0 the second image will be placed at f2p0 (somewhere else on the path) etc.

Can I mark the position with var name so that it will be loaded with the movie file assigned in the textfile?

If anyone can help or give alternative approaches I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

Well… I’ve never heard of doing that… but you never know.

If you’re going to load outside swf’s into your movie you have to load them into a movie clip or a level. You can’t really do exact possitioning with levels, so you’re only resort is to load the swf’s into movie clips on the stage.

Do you know what I’m talking about or does it sound like Greek?

(I only ask because you say you’re new to Flash, but already you’re loading external variables from a text file. It’s hard to tell from that, how advanced you are with this stuff.)

A little bit Greek

I am new I am playing around with flash for about 2 weeks (on a deadline) so I am tearing into it.

My biggest worry is reading the vars to be honest.

Can I use

loadMovieNum(f1p0, 0);

and have it read the var in the text file??

nope… though it will import any variables that are stated inside that swf that’s being loaded.

If you’re that new… I’ll give you a good post in about an hour or so that should get you on the right track.

loadVariable(); for loading variables into a target.
loadVariableNum(); for loading variables into a level.