Help with a Scroll box

Hi everyone, I need some help. For my site I want to make a scroll box that scrolls news and info from top to bottom, and when you put your mouse over it it pauses so you can read that section. Does anyone know where I can find a tutorial to do this or can anyone help me out???

I haven’t tried it yet & I am new to the game but this should work. Make your text a news a movie clip, drag it to the scene & include this script on the text & news clip

onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
//Check to see if your mouse is positioned over
// The clip. If it is the scolling stops
if (_root.ins_newsandinfo.hitTest(_root._xmouse, _root._ymouse, true)) {
&nbsp &nbsp &nbsp &nbsp this._y = _y

// If your mouse is not position over the clip
// Your news & info clip will scroll&nbsp &nbsp &nbsp &nbsp
}else{
y = 1
this._y -= y
y = y + 3
}
}
// You’ll also need to mask the new & info clip
// to give it a true scrolling effect

I appericate you quick responce, I have to say I like coming to these forums because everyone is so helpful, and no one tries to make you feel like an idiot because your just starting out in flash. Thanks again man.

No problem buddy. I hope that helps out.
LMK if it works

You’ll want to set up boundaries so the clip
doesn’t just doesn’t scroll of the page. If you
need help just shout.

// get the original y position of this
y = _y
// hitTest to see if mouse is over this object
if (this.hitTest(_root._xmouse, _root._ymouse, false)) {
// If it is do not scroll the clip
this._y = y;

// if the mouse is NOT over this object
}else{
// Start Scrolling the Clip
y = 1
this._y -= y
y +=3
}
}

Just on that note, i tested your codes and it works really well hey. But when it leaves the screen, how do you make it start again? Loop?

Im also new to flash soo… hehe

:slight_smile:

This should do it:

// get the original y position of this
y = _y
// hitTest to determine if the mouse is over this
if (this.hitTest(_root._xmouse,_root._ymouse, false)) {