Highlighting a text link with mouseover animation

Okay I have this very serious problem I need help with. I’m designing a website and I need something for my menu. Imagine a text/image link. Now in the event of a mouseover, I want a thin single black line to come out of the text, going towards the right hand side. It stops at a particular distance, say three cm. Then a small text box opens up, with information about the item you had the mouseover on. For example, the Text here is called Stuff. There’s the thin black line and then a small single line text box that describes what info is contained if you were to click on that link.

Stuff ------------ Read the latest news around your campus.

Now how do I create this? And where the single line text box opens, there’s probably gonna some text or image, so the effect should also overlap over any file beneath it. Please remember that I’m a beginner, so I kinda need detailed instructions like clicking on File, then New, that kind of very basic teaching.

Thanx,
Nischint

Hey Nischint,

I am no pro myself, but let me take a shot - I am sure one of the gurus can correct me if I am wrong :slight_smile:

As part of the button you should be able to insert a movie clip on the over status. Just place a movie clip with the line and the information you would like to display. so when the user places the mouse over the link/button it automatically plays the clip - displaying your animation of the line and information.

I did some simple testing and this seems to work.

Vimpaler

yup that’s the best, and smallest file size way of accomplishing that effect.
Be sure to place a stop(); action at the end of the movie clip which you are placing in the button, or it will loop the animation.
It is important that you learn about the button states and what they can accomplish, so as a new user I’d say practice putting different things in the button states.