Hmm.. this is really annoying me

Grr I can’t figure this out… isn’t there a simple ‘or’ statement instead of all these !== ones?

This would save me a ton of work in all work…

I attached the the .fla, check it.
Basicly it randomizes #'s and then the transfer button will transfer either one or six, or set it to whatever… all I really want to know is how do you make a statement that will do the work for you?

e.g. in fla

|

the pipe is an ‘or’ statement.

you can find a complete list of the action script statements at the macromedia.com site.

http://www.macromedia.com/support/flash/action_scripts_dict.html

mind you | will work fine in your if statements… but the explination from the dictionary is not really useful on that one. It’s called a ‘bitwise or’ and is discribed as

http://www.macromedia.com/support/flash/action_scripts/bitwise_or.html

Personaly… that discription doesn’t tell me that it can be used as ‘or’ in an ‘if’ statement… but hey… I’m no programer.

You know what is funny. I understand what it does, but I don’t understand how it is considered an or statement.

It converts numbers into binary then melds them together like DNA.

1010 = Binary form of 9
0101 = Binary form of 5

9 | 5 = 15 (1111…or the combination of both binary strands)

yeah… I saw your explination before, and for the first time realized what the a/s dictionary was talking about in it’s explination. I cannot figure out how that makes it an or statement either… but hey… as long as we know it works… :slight_smile:

I learned most my actionscript from the AS Dictionary…lol. No wonder I am so perplexed about it and end up doing things the hard way:P