If action script

I can’t figure out this problem.
Well, I am not good at action scripts at all. so…

Anyway, I have two buttons. One button has tell target action that opens up the door. Another button has also tell target action that closes the door. Opening the door is fine. But when I click on “close” button, it shows the text underneath the door even though it was not open.

So, when the door is not open and click on the “close” button, I don’t want the text underneath the door to appear.

Do you get it?
I think I need to use “if” action, but I don’t know how to write a sentence.

I made a flash file so that you can take a look.
I really appreciate your help.
Tnank you!

1. tellTarget is deprecated (fazed out)… the new code goes like this…

CHANGE THIS…

on (release) {
	tellTarget ("door") {
		gotoAndPlay("go");
	}
}

TO THIS

on (release) {
     _root.door.gotoAndPlay("go");
}{/CODE]

2)  I am not quite sure what you mean about the door closing.  Everything seems to work fine for me.  Do you mean you want the text to disappear? and then the block fades out?

Well I fixed it the way I thought you wanted. I figured why not give it a try? If it isn’t the way you want… I can just change it next time you specify.

Thank you for your reply.

I tested the file that you attached, but that was not what I wanted. When you click on close, the text dissapears all of a sudden. I want it to gradually fade out as if we were closing the door.

To explain this again, I attached another movie. In this movie, I createda door. The animation works fine, but here is the problem.

When you click on the close button without clicking on the open button before you click on the close button, the text shows up. The door was close. So it is not supposed to show the text behind the door at all. You know what I mean?

The same thing goes to open. When the door is already opend and you click on open. It looks like the door gets closed and opened again.