¿ loadVariables or loadvars?

which is which? :hangover: im just starting out with this stuff and found myself confuse… which one should i use? …or which one is preferrable to use…loadVariables or loadVars?

…and please “educate” me further for as i have said, im just starting out… thanx.

Howdy…

I am in no position to educate somebody else… So, I’ll just say what I think… :wink:

As long as you use FMX and you have no reason to export your movie to F5, use LoadVars() object… Don’t ask… Just use it and I am sure you will thank me later… :beam:

thanx a lot cyan… i understand… but for sure, you have the position to tell me some links and/or tutorial with regards to this one… :wink:

Well… Don’t really know about that…

Let me give you an example just in case that makes you feel better… :wink:

If you use loadVariables() function, you have to code yourself how to check if the data is fully loaded, and sometimes it is really painful thing… But you can use onLoad handler if you use LoadVars() object and it is built-in function…

Other than that, go to Macromedia’s website and check out the FMX release note… I think I have seen something about the LoadVars() from there… :wink:

Here is a simple example of how to use LoadVars ()

[AS]user_vars = new LoadVars();

user_vars.username = _level0.login_username.text;
user_vars.pass = _level0.login_pass.text;

user_vars.onLoad = loginLoadHandler;
user_vars.sendAndLoad(“login.php?random=”+random(9999999), user_vars, “POST”);[/AS]

That will send two variables called login_username and login_password to a login php script. Once the script is done processing you would have something like this to handle the outcome.

[AS]loginLoadHandler = function(success) {
if (success) {
//Do whatever you want to do
}
}[/AS]

Howdy, Immulsifier…

random() function could give you two same numbers no matter how big the argument is… and it is deprecated in F5… You might want to use getTimer() function instead…