New to this - character stuck in animation cycle

Hi all

I’ve recently been interested in Flash’s potential to make games, so thought I’d give it a try and see what happens. I’m not actually making a game here, just working through the process of controlling a character and changing animations, etc, that kind of thing. I’m completely new to this, so I’m doing this to learn actionscript in relation to games programming from the ground up using various tutorials and so on.

So I’ve set up a character to do 3 things at the moment: Stand, run, take a running jump.
I have 4 different movie clips, one for each animation, and one that stores al the animations under different frames. Frame 1 is labelled standing, 2 is labelled running, and 3 is labelled runjump.

By assigning action script to the movie clip that houses the animations, I’ve got so far, and here’s how it works.

• Clip runs and player stands, setting their ‘state’ to “standing”.
  • Press Left or Right key, and it checks to make sure the players state is “standing” or already running, and if all is well, changes the clip to the frame that is storing the running animation and sets off in the right direction. Set the state to “running” aswell.
  • Let go of the left or right key and the player stands still again, setting the state back to “standing”

All that works great, but the problem is when it changes to the jump animation. Now at this stage, I don’t want it to actually jump anywhere, just change animation, then change back when it’s done. Here’s how it’s set to jump:

• Player is running (say) left, holding down the Left key to make him run, then while holding onto Left, presses up to do a running jump.
  • Code checks that you are in fact running, all is well, so switches to jump animation.

However, as soon as you hit jump, the clip gets stuck in the animation and continues to jump over and over again, and no matter what keys you press, you can’t make him stop!