News flash in flash 5

Hi everybody,
i’m a web page designer i want to insert a news ticker in my site i’ve flash 5 at my office and am not able to do it…can anybody pls. help me out.
i also want it to run thru an external source… *.txt, or something like that.
pls pls help me.

regards,
deepa.

I’m not sure… but I think that colin moock has a tutorial on that somewhere… if not, I’ll bet that there is one on www.flashkit.com.

I’ve been interested in this myself though so eventually kirupa will have one as well. I have to work out some functions in the morning that related to this so if you can wait for a while I’ll see what I can come up with to help you.

thanks David,
i myself my trying out things…but somehow they r not working.
there aint any option until i get the things ready…but to wait!!!
so, if the thing is ready do let me know.

cheers,
deepa.

you ARE talking about a side scrolling single line of text right?

just making sure we’re on the same page.

Hey hey… my news ticker example is done.

You can find it at

http://www.centerspin.com/download/newsticker.zip

Please enjoy, and if you have any questions let me know.

Thanks David u’ve been of gr8 help.
this is what i was looking for.
if i’ve any doubts i’ll let u know.

Cheers!
Deepa. =)

Hi, Deepa
Here is another example of how to make a news ticker, its a different way to how David has done his as this is just a simple newsticker, but feel free to do with as you like

if you prefer I can show you how to make a news ticker using XML as input. All you have to do is put the news into the xml-file and the movie does the rest. You can add as many sentences as you want. although I think that is pretty much how David has done his i’ve took the liberty of downloading a copy of his version (cheers David) I haven’t yet taken a good look at it, but he is usually spot on with his approach still it might be handy for you to have more than one way of doing this:bandit: