Should I apply to MIT?

I’m a prospective engineering student and I’m curious if there’s even the slightest chance that MIT would even read my applications (my main plan is a state school or a less selective private school like Renesellear).

Anyway, my unweighted GPA is a 3.5 (as a freshman I fooled around and got all Bs and Cs, but since than its been all As and only 1 B). My weighted GPA is 4.0

My SAT will probably be in the 750-780 range (I haven’t gotten results yet, but I knew all of the questions but 2).

The vast majority of my classes are honors, however I’ve only taken one AP class so far but I plan on taking 4 more (most of the classes follow a linear track, and you can’t really take the AP early on).

So do I even have a chance at MIT?

Its like lottery, “Gotta be in it to win it”. When I was sending my high school tapes out to colleges. I felt the same way. Like would they even look at it. Well the college I wanted to, did and I got a full ride Div 1 basketball scholarship.

I say do it. Whats the worse that can happen?

Hmmm… Well, I want to apply to the colleges that I can reasonably get into. My class rank is at the bottom of the top 20%. I’m not sure if MIT even accepts people at that level of academic performance

Go for it! No harm in trying, I suppose.

[ot]DDD: You went to college on a basketball scholarship? Wow… :P[/ot]

Why the hell not?

I’d rather become disappointed than regretful. Go for it.

You’ll regret not applying if you don’t. The worst that can happen is you won’t get in. Same result as not applying.

[QUOTE=nokrev;1984815]
[ot]DDD: You went to college on a basketball scholarship? Wow… :P[/ot][/QUOTE]
Yup played semi-pro too…But I was always a design geek on the inside.

[ot]Wow, that’s really neat. :thumb:

Post a video! :D[/ot]

[ot]:lol: our classmate went to a prestigious high school because of basketball too:)[/ot]
apply. i might even try, even though i’m not in the us. next year.
go for it. no harm in trying:)