Sliding door effect

Hello Everyone,

I’m new here, sort of new to Flash (I’ve been working with it for three months or so), and have a little dillema going on. I want to create an sliding door sort of effect to cover up a little blink that happens when I load external .swfs into an empty movie clip on the main stage of my site.

To get an idea of what I am describing, you can look here:

http://www.lshd.com/main.html

It seems like a pretty common tack to take, but I am having some trouble.

Here’s what I’ve done so far. I’ve created a movieclip which has the sliding door effect and placed that on the layer above my the movie clip which serves as the target for my externally loaded .swfs.

The movie clip which contains the effect is called “wipe” – the target clip is called “c”.

On my first navigation button which I am using to test my strategy I have this code:

on (release) {
_root.wipe.gotoAndPlay(2);
_root.loader(“fast”, " ", 2);

}

“loader” is a function on the root time line which loads different movies into the target “_root.c”

What I can’t figure out is how to make the door animation play until it is fully closed, then execute the loader function, wait until it knows the load is complete, then open back up.

Does anyone have an idea how I might accomplish this?

Thanks,

Ed

I don’t think I can help but I just wanted to say your incredible if you made that site after only using flash for 3 months. I’ve been using flash twice as long and can’t do anything near that quality. :slight_smile:

I may have the wrong end of the stick here, but I’ll give it a shot.