The basics: button stuff

still struggling as a newbie here.

I’ve now gotten it into my head how to do loadMovie and putting a different movie into my document.

But what if it’s a movieclip?

specifically… I want to click a button one place and have a movieclip play in a different location. I think this is an “event”, and I’ve put in my onRelease script and the instance name of the button… I can’t seem to come up with the ?function? that will tell it to go play a movie clip… help please :slight_smile:

I think you are referring to the new age tellTarget. That looks something like this…

on (release){
_root.yourMC.gotoAndPlay(frame#);
}

an instance of your movie clip has to be present on the stage to use that. You can create the movie clip and have the first frame be blank with a stop(); action, that way it isn’t visible on the stage. Then when you press your button it can _root.yourMC.gotoAndPlay(2) and this will play the second frame which will start the animation.

Or are you talking about the attachMovie function? This is where you can pull a movie from the library, this does increase CPU usage on the viewers computer though. If you are talking about attachMovie let me know and I will see if I can explain.

Hello again. What you need to do is load the external movie into a movie clip. For example, you normally load a movie like:

[COLOR=blue]on (release) {
loadMovieNum (“whatever”, “level”)
}[/COLOR]

What you need to do, is create an empty movie clip. Edit the movie clip and draw a rectangle the same dimensions as the external movie you wish to load.

Move the movie clip to where you want the external movie to load (the rectangle is there to help you know where the movie will appear).

If your movie clip (the one that contains the rectangle) is called “holder” use the following actions:

[COLOR=blue]on (release) {
loadMovie (“whatever.swf”, “/holder”)
}[/COLOR]