Loading movieclip - really basic question

Hi
I know how to do a load movie action when i am calling a movie externaly, but how do i go about loading a movie clip that is already in the library.
I have never done this before. What I have done is had the movie clip sitting on the stage with an empty frame in frame 1 and on an event you go to frame 2.
There must be a better way

Thanking you
Miffy :slight_smile:

Calling from a library…hmmmm. Oh yeah, I know how to do that. First what I need you to do is open your library and right click on the object you want attached in the library. Click on Linkage and check the Export for Actionscript checkbox.

Under Identifier, put any name you want (in my example I called it clipToAttach). Hit OK.

Create a movie clip on the stage that you want your library clip to attach to. On the movie clip add this code…

onClipEvent (load) {
	_this.attachMovie("clipToAttach", "clipToAttach2", 2);
}

clipToAttach = just that
clipToAttach2 = the required rename, you can make this whatever you want.
2 = depth of the clip

I hope this helps, any questions, just ask:)

Can I use the
onClipEvent (load)
action for a button or would it be
on release??
The button is what would prompt the movieclip to open

I hope you understand my question

Thanks for your help
Cheers
:slight_smile:

You actually can’t attach to a button, only to another movie clip. BUT… If you have your button in a movie clip, that saves the day.

What I did was made a button instance. Then added the actions to my button, then made the button a movie clip instance and used this code

on(release) {
	_root.clipAttacher.attachMovie("clipToAttach", "clipToAttach2", 2);
}

clipAttacher = clip you want your library clip to attach to(clip that contains your button)