Angled text

i cant get mx to publish angled text (rotate text)… is it impossible??

If the text is static, you can convert it to a movieClip (F8) and do whatever you want with it like tween, rotate, apply AS, etc.

Is that what you mean?

i can get it to rotate… even when its just a static text… but when i “control>test” it… it isnt published… even when i convert it into a graphic…

If you are trying to make anything rotate in a flash movie (to my knowledge) it has to be a MovieClip. Especially with actionscript. Graphics in tweens will do strange tricks when you are editing, but with you test (Ctrl+Enter) sometimes they wont do anything at all.

If you are using a tween, make sure the purple area in your timeline has a arrow and not a dashed line. If it has a dashed line, your tween will not work.

I’m still kinda new at this too. When I first started, tweening was hard for me to figure out.

and make sure that the text field is not dynamic text…

well im not even trying to tween it…

i just want to display text at an angle…

when i rotate it… i SEE it rotate… but when i publish it… it dissapears…

ive already tried converting it into a movie and rotating after but it still dosent work…

How are you doing this - frame by frame ? and did you check as Kax suggests that your text isn’t designated as “dynamic” ?

perhaps a little more of a play by play description of what all you’ve done so far … or attatch your file for someone to see would be helpfull … it is a little obscure how you explain it now

Oh. Well, then, it could be a graphic or movieClip or whatever. When you are editing it, and you just hit Enter to play your movie in edit mode, does it work the way you want then? Or does it disappear. That text needs to remain on the timeline throught what’s being played or it will vanish from your stage.

im not even trying to animate anything… i just want a fixed angled look…

heres an fla…

when i control>test it… the text dissappears…