Designing a whole site in flash

Hi, I’m pretty new to flash and so far have only used it to make isolated movies. I’m trying to build a whole site with it now but don’t have a clue the best way to do this - I have a static menu at the left, but how do I get the main text to change every time a different menu button is clicked? (ie how do you make the existing text disappear and be replaced with the new info?) An example of what I mean is at http://www.personal-screening.com/flash/player.htm. Basically I need certain elements, like the menu, to stay there all the time, and just change the main item.

Any help at all with this would be great. I don’t want to have to resort to frames in frontpage again!:frowning:

change the variable name of the textbox you want to change to for example “info”.
Now add the action to all the buttons in the menu and add the text you want the textbox to display to where “blabla” is. (delete “blabla” of course-´leave the quotation marks as they are (don’t delete them))
and change _root.menu.textbox to whatever and wherever the textbox is.

on(release) {
_root.menu.info.textbox = "blabla"
}

I hope I helped :crazy: (don’t we all)

Lets assume you have 5 menu items in your menu.

Create a new flash movie with 3 layers,

Actions, Menu and Content

On the actions layer bring up it’s frame actions and insert a Stop action, otherwise your movie will play until the end.

On the menu layer copy your menu txt/graphics.

Now open the scene inspector and duplicate this scene 4 more times.Name the scenes in the order you would like them to appear(ie) scene1, scene2 etc.

Now you have your 5 different"pages" (scenes)for your menu to jump to.

On the content layer of each scene insert and position your content/txt for that scene.

Now turn your menu items into button instances and give them the actionscript to jump to the different scenes in the movie.
For example, the button for scene 2 would have code something like this:

on (press) {