Extracting from a Database using PHP / Flash

Thanks to all for the great resource created here . . .
OK, I’m new to flash & trying to learn PHP as well.
How difficult is it to have a small MYSql Database & draw info from it using PHP (I assume this is the most efficient method). Also, How is the book Foundation PHP for Flash for any of you who may have read it. Also, does Kirupa have an amazon referal link so I can throw him a few pennies with my book purchases? If it’s not too hard a very basic commented example would be cool to see. I haven’t seen to many posting on dynamically driven (database) sites & wanted to get the brains talking.

Thanks to all,
Tim

What’s up! If you are new to both PHP AND Flash, you might have some difficulty. However, if you have an advanced programming background, it might not be too hard for you to figure things out. At any rate, I’m pretty comfortable with Flash and getting things started with PHP. I’m getting comfortable with using both together. I haven’t tried database manipulation but I’m sure it shouldn’t be too big a step if you’re already familiar with PHP and Flash. Recently I purchased Server-Side Flash: Scripts, Databases, and Dynamic Development. So far it has been very useful and easy to understand!

How comfortable are you with Actionscript?

I have a couple of scripts that I’ll post for you in the morning.

I admittedly still have some problems with this myself, but I’ll be happy to share what I know so far. As far as I’m concerned it’s a fairly easy process as these things go.

Hey Renni Girl…how much did that book set you back? I’m broke but I need to learn more. I am going to start putting together a site for myself, and i want to learn as much as possible. Any good books on ASP and PHP? Any one give me some suggestions? This is going to be my summer project.