General flash design issues

hey there…

again, im new to developing apps in flash so i have some questions regarding design…

most of the flash sites i seem to view have been built with a main html page doing a test for flash and then spawning a new popup where the site itself is contained… is there any advantage to doing it this way rather than the traditional html style withb the whole app just embedded in the one page… why the popups???

anyone out there got some answers… am i not aware of a major design advantage in usng the pop up …

cheers…

Pop-Up windows for full flash sites are mainly used only because they can make the window the exact size of the movie, instead of having all the blank area around it that you would get in a standard browser window.

That is about the only reason.

That and the ability to irritate me beyond belief. Oh I know, it’s probably just me being weird, but even using pop ups you still get ‘space’ around the movie, it’s just full of your open windows and stuff. Plus it means I’ve got more windows open that I started with and I have to exit twice. Grrr.

popups are a vile vile thing… even on Flash sites.

Keep in mind sir… because Flash is a pretty low cost program as they go, and because creating web pages is such a popular thing these days, you have a lot of people designing who have no practical skill at it. Only 10% of the Flash web sites I’ve seen follow even a fraction of the standard rules used by design firms.

That’s also why 90% of the people who I meet that Flash cannot get a job either. Sure they do good work… but without adhiering to the rules that employers are looking for, they’ll never get hired. Our jobs as designers is to find that middle ground… that ‘centerspin’ which apeals to the most people, and then exploit it. Simple as that.

Popups are like “Blip-verts”. They are good for shoving things down your throat, but anoying as termites.