Having Trouble Getting Preloader To Work - Help!

Just like the header says, I’m new to Flash MX and having great difficulty getting the preloader to work. I have followed every preloader tutorial here and none of them seem to work. Is there anyone here who can help me out.

it would be a waste of space to make a new thread so i posted here

i need a little help

can i combine a spinning animation made in swift3d and a percentage preloader… if so… how?

What problem are you having with the preloader? It’s not displaying correctly, or not working at all…?

Honestly Guys,

The whole **** thing is NOT working at all… I am truly frustrated with this stuff. I have followed the tutorials and the **** things don’t work. If you can help me I would appreciate it.

You’re gonna have to explain exactly what is going wrong. I haven’t had any problems with the tutorials, myself. Just make sure you are adding the preloaded to the first frame, of your first scene.

Or, wherever else you feel the need to preload.

Hey Guys,

Here I am again. Let me ask this question of you first. I have followed the directions to the Kirupa tutorials for the preloader. When I have it installed in my movie I should be able to preview the movie and see the preloader do it’s thing, right or wrong?

Well, I do follow the tutorials exactly. I put the preloader and in the first frame, on it’s own layer. Then I view the movie and I never see the preloader at all. The few times that I have seen it, it does nothing. It just sits on the face of my movie and stays there while my movie plays…

Can anyone give me a hint as to my problem? Not sure if it needs more explaining, but if you need more just write me. Hell I’ll even send you the file so you can look at it yourself.

Thanks,

Kelly

No offense, but if you’d followed the tutorial exactly, it’d work. :slight_smile:

First, when you hit ctrl+enter to view your movie from flash (or manually begin play) do you get any actionscript errors?